Game Jam Success! (part 2)

[Untitled]
 
(View the game at the link below)
 
Who are you and what do you do?
 
My name is Beige Turner.  I’m currently a foreman of a crew for Asplundh Tree co.  We trim around power lines for Midamerican Energy.  I’m also an online student at Devry university studying for a Computer Systems Informations degree.  I’m practicing as much as a can on my programming and design skills to look for a career in the games industry in the future after I complete my degree.
 
What was the name of your game and a brief description.
 
Game is currently untitled.  The game takes place in a little town of heroes where the local government has been taxing quest items heavily.   It’s up to you, the player, to get the items back to the shop while avoiding the guard’s taxes.   The game itself explains the controls and upgrade system.
Game Development Summary:
I enjoy using game maker because of it’s ability for quick prototyping.   It also allows me to write small pieces of code to continue learning on that front.   I learned, in a real world scenario, more about arrays and putting objects into “memory.”   I hope to maybe collaborate in the next jam with an artist so our game can move away from stock/”pre-made” art to feel more complete and fit together in more complete sense.
 
What did you think of the event overall?
 
This was another successful game jam in my books. Hanging out in a creative and motivating environment is awesome. I learned a ton, had a blast, met some new people that I hope to share and learn from more in the future, along with doing the same with previous friends.
 
And you must choose between either having a Panda or a Sloth and why.   <-(don’t skimp on the details…)
 
I’m not really sure how to answer this one :).  If I had to choose, I think I would pick a panda.  They’re just really awesome to see, and it would give me an excuse to try and grow a bunch of bamboo.
 
Thanks for the great weekend, can’t wait for the next one.
 
 
And the members of AIUI thank you for attending. We look forward to seeing more of your work!
Leave a Reply

